My Favorite Anime Themes of 2021 (12 Days of Anime 8)

umrguy42
4 min readDec 21, 2021

--

Play that funky music, Renge (Image source: Non Non Biyori Nonstop)

Ahh, the old “Favorite Anime Themes” post. A tried-and-true classic, although last year, I didn’t have enough “competition” or so for the yearly post, prompting my “all-time” lists. Still not a lot of choices this year, but I thought I’d look back and see what ones I definitely liked and should be in my musical rotation, if they aren’t already. For this year, though, I’m not going to limit myself to just favorite of each season, but rather favorites of each season.

Welcome to “12 Days of Anime 2021”, a writing challenge in which I look to have an article a day for 12 days leading up to Christmas, all centered in some way on anime or anime-related topics. You can find last year’s stories at this link over on Anitay, as well as re-posts of my 2018 and 2019 series here on Medium. Big, big thanks to Stanlick for creating the header image outline template.

Winter 2021

Ahh, Winter. Saw the return of Yuru Camp. You know damn well that I’m down for both Season 2’s OP and ED:

“Seize the Day”, Asaka (Yuru Camp Season 2 OP)

It’s got that bouncy energy that I love. Sadly not part of this video is the accompanying animation for the series, which I loved in no small part as well.

“Haru no Tonari”, Eri Sasaki (Yuru Camp Season 2 ED)

Do I stan for Eri Sasak? You know I do. Is it just because of Season 1’s “Fuyu Biyori” and then getting to see a concert of hers in person? Damn straight it is.

“Ganbare! Kumoko-san no Theme”, Aoi Yuuki (Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka? ED1)

Moving on from Yuru Camp, we have Frantic Aoi Yuuki singing an ending about being a spider in an isekai? Yup. I’m all over that.

Spring 2021

“Gudafuwa Every Day”, Aoi Yuuki (Slime Taoshite 300-nen, Shiranai Uchi ni Level Max ni Nattemashita OP)

Stop me when this sounds familiar: Aoi Yuuki singing a song for a show in which her character is in an isekai. Wait, this one’s different — it’s the Opening!

“Taiga yo Tomo ni Naitekuri”, Franchouchou (Zombieland Saga: Revenge OP)

The Franchouchou girls give us an absolute banger to kick off the second season’s episodes.

“Saga Jihen”, Franchouchou (Zombieland Saga: Revenge ED5)

So, after the Legendary Yamada Tae, Yugiri is my favorite zombie girl, and her feature song, with the big brassy sound and mix of traditional instruments to open up, is just the best. Although really, you can’t go wrong with any of the songs from this season.

“Genjitsu Totsugeki Hierarchy”, Aoi Yuuki (Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka? ED2)

What, you thought I’d skip the second Aoi Yuuki Spider ending? It’s like you don’t know me by now, sheesh.

Summer 2021

Hands up who thinks I won’t be picking Dragon Maid songs? Okay, all those who put their hands up, go sit in the corner, and think about what you’ve done. Of course I’m putting up fhàna and the chorogons.

“Ai no Supreme”, fhàna (Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon S OP)

It’s catchy, it moves, the show was awesome, and fhàna puts out some killer music videos. ‘Nuff said.

“Maid with Dragons”, The Chorogons (Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon S ED)

I mentioned in a previous article that in addition to a cosplay music video covering the first season’s OP, they did one for the second season’s ED. Well, here it is.

“ABC Taisou”, Mamoru Miyano and Nana Mizuki (Uramichi Oniisan OP)

So all the goofy song snippets from the show, are more or less reflected in this opening as well.

Fall 2021

Really, just one memorable theme for me from this season, sadly.

“Seikatsu Konkyuu Dame Dinero”, Sumire Uesaka (Jahy-sama wa Kujikenai OP2)

So, it’s not Aoi Yuuki singing about being isekai’d but it’s got the same energy, while singing about needing money to live.

Honorable Mentions

“Little Honda”, The Hondells

C’mon, this totally should’ve been used in Super Cub. You know it, I know it, I APOLOGIZE FOR NOTHING. Also:

“Mahou no Kaze”, Akane Kumada (Super Cub OP)

Okay, for real this time. It’s got the perfect energy for rolling down the road, absolutely well done there.

--

--

umrguy42

Guy who Does Stuff. Parent. Part cyborg. Is stuck in the Snowbelt, but would rather be living in the DATABASE, DATABASE.